[SOLVED] Client does not start on manjaro linux

    Joined
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages
    7
    Reaction score
    1
    Code:
    >>> Adding process 19507 for game ID 244770
    [VERSION] loading version from install dir: ./
    [VERSION] VERSION: 0.199.654
    [VERSION] BUILD: 20170822_142245
    #################### StarMade #######################
    # version 0.199.654 - build 20170822_142245 #
    #####################################################
    [SERIAL] "not retrieved"
    [INSTALLATION_DIRECTORY] "/home/al-kate/.local/share/Steam/steamapps/common/StarMade/StarMade/."
    [JVM-ARGUMENTS] [-Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true, -Xmn128M, -Xms512M, -Xmx4096M, -Xincgc]
    [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring lava.png.zip: not a directory
    [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring shield_tex.png.zip: not a directory
    [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring lava.png: not a directory
    [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring shield_tex.png: not a directory
    [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring lava.png.zip: not a directory
    [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring shield_tex.png.zip: not a directory
    [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring lava.png: not a directory
    [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring shield_tex.png: not a directory
    [STARTER] AUTH TOKEN SUBMITTED VIA ARGUMENT
    [API-LOGIN] REQUESTING OWN INFO
    [API-LOGIN] REQUESTING AUTH TOKEN TO AUTHORIZE ON SERVER
    [OAuth2] Requesting Auth Token https://registry.star-made.org/api/v1/users/login_request.json
    [OAuth2] server_auth token aquired
    [STARTER] RETRIEVED REGISTRY NAME: al-kate; ID: 614887
    [SERVER] using world: world0; ./server-database/world0/
    [INIT] Segment Database Path: /home/al-kate/.local/share/Steam/steamapps/common/StarMade/StarMade/./server-database/world0/DATA; exists? true; is Dir? true; creating dir successful (gives false if exists)? false
    [LIBLOADER] OS Linux - 4.14.3-1-MANJARO
    [LIBLOADER] JAVA Oracle Corporation - 1.7.0_80 - /home/al-kate/.local/share/Steam/steamapps/common/StarMade/dep/java/jre1.7.0_80
    [LIBLOADER] ARCHITECTURE amd64
    [LIBLOADER] LOADED LINUX 64bit OPENAL LIBRARIES
    [LIBLOADER] LOADED LINUX 64bit NATIVE LIBRARIES
    [LIBLOADER] FastNoiseSIMD Level: 3
    [LIBLOADER] COMPLETE
    [MAIN] CHECKING IF MIGRATION NECESSARY
    [MAIN] MIGRATION PROCESS DONE
    [MAIN] STARTING WITH ARGUMENTS: [-force, -port:4242, -auth 959b1343720e8dd5accd5766b98ca20d56a93bcd754bdee399456822c0f50aef]
    [LANGUAGE] loading language: russian; Resolved to russian
    [LANGUAGE] Loading Russian; Version: 0
    [LANGUAGE] LOADED FONT PATH/NAME: data/font/NotoSansCJKtc-Regular.ttf
    [CLIENT][STARTUP] Starting main menu
    [CLIENT][STARTUP] Starting Graphics
    [CLIENT][STARTUP] Initialize Open GL
    [CLIENT][GRAPHCIS] UPDATE DISPLAY MODE
    [CLIENT][GRAPHCIS] RETRIEVING DEFAULT SCREEN DEVICE
    [CLIENT][GRAPHCIS] display received
    [GRAPHICS] set display mode: FULLSCREEN: true; dim: 1366 / 768
    Exception in thread "main"
    java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
        at obfuscated.aSj.a(SourceFile:504)
        at obfuscated.aSj.f(SourceFile:531)
        at obfuscated.aSj.a(SourceFile:169)
        at obfuscated.af.e(SourceFile:1135)
        at org.schema.game.common.Starter.startMainMenu(SourceFile:1450)
        at org.schema.game.common.Starter.main(SourceFile:995)
    Caused by: java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 0
        at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.getAvailableDisplayModes(LinuxDisplay.java:951)
        at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.init(LinuxDisplay.java:738)
        at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:138)
        ... 6 more
    >>> Adding process 19532 for game ID 244770
        event      Game closed. Exiting
       --end--     Exiting
    [19492:1204/152306:WARNING:channel.cc(549)] Failed to send message to ack remove remote endpoint (local ID 2147483648, remote ID 2)

    this happens on two different computers with manjaro linux
     
    Last edited:
    Joined
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages
    492
    Reaction score
    149
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 3
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.getAvailableDisplayModes(LinuxDisplay.java:951)
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.init(LinuxDisplay.java:738)
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:138)
    ... 6 more
    I do not have much Linux knowlage but looking at the log my gues would be a video card driver error. Try to get the very latest driver for your system. StarMade does not run on older Intel graphic cards though and it might have issues with newer Intel cards just in case you have one of those.

    Valck runs StarMade on a Linux system he might have some more insight into your problem.

    Please quote or add the file graphcisinfo.txt from your logs folder it may help us further.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: KarinaBauer
    Joined
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages
    7
    Reaction score
    1
    I have a dual-head intel+nvidia graphics configuration and starts steam with primus utility. But with this parameter runs only launcher, not client. I invents a crutch to run a client through primus..
     
    Joined
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages
    492
    Reaction score
    149
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 3
    I have a dual-head intel+nvidia graphics configuration and starts steam with primus utility.
    At this point i do not think it is a Steam issue.

    You did not provide the info i asked. Look into the graphicisinfo.txt file it will tell you which of the two video cards are being used by StarMade.

    here is mine:

    Running on thread: main
    Adapter: nvd3dumx,nvwgf2umx,nvwgf2umx
    Driver Version: 23.21.13.8792
    Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
    OpenGL Version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 387.92
    Renderer: GeForce GTX 750 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
    GLSL Ver: 4.60 NVIDIA

    The fact that one of them is an Intel card could point to StarMade trying to use the Intel card to run and that might why it is failing.

    But without this info i can only offer my best gues.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: KarinaBauer
    Joined
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages
    7
    Reaction score
    1
    My steamapps/common/StarMade/StarMade/logs directory have no graphicisinfo.txt
     
    Joined
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages
    492
    Reaction score
    149
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 3
    My steamapps/common/StarMade/StarMade/logs directory have no graphicisinfo.txt
    Lets try to reverse engineer it. Can you enter your computers Bios and select the nvidia graphics as the Primary Adapter.

    Primary Graphics Adapter - PCIE - PCI - IGP

    PCIE = nvidia
    IGP = Intel

    All bios are different but it might be under Advanced - ChipSet - SouthBridge - Primary Graphics Adapter - PCIE - PCI - IGP

    The computer should then only be using the Nvidia Card.
     
    Joined
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages
    7
    Reaction score
    1
    I just installed xrandr package and java got my available display modes and my script solved the problem

    For other dual-head configuration users, who are faced with my problem on linux:

    - Make sure that you have xrandr in the system

    - Create a directory with any name anywhere and put there a file called "java" with the following cont
    ent:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    primusrun /usr/bin/java $@
    exit 0

    - Make it executable (in terminal):
    Code:
    cd /path/to/your/catalog
    chmod +x java

    - Reconfigure the client:



    in my case i created catalog /home/al-kate/apps/primus_java and placed script there



    Enjoy!


    [doublepost=1512417153,1512415883][/doublepost]
    Can you enter your computers Bios and select the nvidia graphics as the Primary Adapter.
    BIOS on my computers have no this option (unfortunately)
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Batavium