Possible fix for stabilizers

Reaction score
    I just got the new Pre-release version, and the new stabilizers suck (not to mention the fact that the devs removed my favorite blocks for decoration--capacitors and jump modules). I have an idea that would combat islands, dumbbells, and spaghettis.

Instead of requiring stabilizers to be a specific distance away, why not require reactors to be within a certain distance of stabilizers? The stabilizers are pretty much (conceptually) there to prevent the reactors from exploding in a cataclysmic fireball, so they should be within a close proximity of the reactors to keep them from exploding, etc.

Basically, you place down a stabilizer or group of stabilizers, and this gives you an area within a certain distance away from said stabilizer(s) in which you can effectively place reactors. Going outside the stabilizers' area, while not impossible, will compromise the integrity of the reactors, and should any unstable reactors be hit, boom.

This pretty much eliminates spaghetti entirely because you can't place the reactors in thin lines any more. Dumbbells go poof because there is no longer an advantage in keeping groups of reactors and stabilizers far apart. And, lastly, it's sayonara (pardon my incorrect romaji) islands because there is no advantage of keeping various parts of the ship separate any longer.

Please feel free to comment and make suggestions!

Skwidz

turtleStew
    Reaction score
    That would be weird. Also that probably wouldn't get rid of dumbbells and islands because that's simply changing reactor and stabilizer placement resulting in reactor bits (or fragments, whatever you want to call them) or other odd things like reactor rings. The rings don't sound so bad but could be difficult to build anyways. Since you're placing reactors based on stabilizer position that would still result in islands.

Reaction score