Non-turret docked entities should be streamlined

jayman38

Precentor-Primus, pro-tempore
    Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Ever since I started playing Starmade, I have been wanting to build modular ships and ships I can control by docking a shuttle and the shuttle becomes the control center of the entire ship.

With rail-docked entities, I was hoping that would come true, but weird rules have prevented proper connections, like what I'm looking for.

Weird rules like shields dropping on the docked entity after hitting 25-50%. That's fine for keeping turrets balanced and all, but doesn't seem to work for other docked entities. Docked doors and things should get full coverage, and should not resist effect weapons.

Similarly, more things should get shared into a core ship pool. Shield systems should add to the overall ship shield rating, not a sub-entity shield, and should pull energy from the central pool. Additional weapons and FTL systems should be available for placement on the hotbar. If the core entity already had a FTL system, there should be the option to link up the docked FTL system so that it adds to the "mother's" FTL block count, allowing the core system to charge faster... Of course, the player should be able to select which FTL systems to link, because frequently, "mother" ships are built with more than one. The other option being that the docked FTL system can simply be an additional standalone drive that can be added to the hotbar if desired. Docked entity power systems should add to the central pool instead of powering only that level of docked entity and other entities further down the docking tree.