Newbie Storage and factory questions

Reaction score
    So I just started playing last week and am having trouble finding some info about storage and factories. I was hoping someone here could help me out.

I have a space station and shipyard but I can't seem to make storage work. I have storage containers and I have them linked to storage areas to try and increase capacity but no matter how many area blocks I build and place, the over capacity of the system never increases. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

Additionally, I can't seem to get my factory to output to a container. Where can I find solid tutorial?

Reaction score
    It sounds like you aren't linking the cargo area blocks to your storage boxes and shipyard. In build mode press C on the storage, factory, or shipyard, then press V on the storage blocks you want to link. You can also press shift+V to link groups of cargo space. If you select the storage box (pressing C, orange outline) before placing the cargo blocks it will automatically link them.

To get something like a factory to output to a storage box, you have to enable that storage box to pull all items. Open it up and click on option for setting what to pull, select pull all, and put a high amount like 99999, then activate item pulling. Now, anything you link to that box (C on box, v on linked object) will get its contents pulled out, so link the factory and then anything you craft will be pulled out into the box. Also, you should link the box to your factory so the factory can pull out items it needs for crafting. The same goes with linking shipyards to storage, link them both ways and they will essentially share items between them.

Hope that helps.

Reaction score
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    The best way to make sure things are set right is use a build block when setting them down.