1. Hey Guest! We're currently translating StarMade. Anyone can translate, if you can, feel free to!
      Dismiss Notice
    2. Interested in helping moderate SMD? We're currently looking for moderators, check out this thread.
      Dismiss Notice

    New Power DEV Thread

    Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Top 4ce, Oct 4, 2017.

    1. Top 4ce

      Top 4ce Force or Ace?

      Joined:
      Jul 25, 2013
      Messages:
      470
      This be a (temporary) place to discuss the new power dev build.

      Post your thoughts, have those (constructive) arguments!

      I'll start by saying that everything is changed, don't compare old numbers to new numbers, old mechanics to new mechanics. If you do, you'll get confused.

      [​IMG]
       
      • Like Like x 3
    2. Comradecolonel

      Joined:
      Jun 17, 2015
      Messages:
      277
      I WANT IT NOOOOWWWW!!!!

      edit: wait its out?

      edit2: IT'S OUTTTT! testing now...
       
      #2 Comradecolonel, Oct 4, 2017
      Last edited: Oct 4, 2017
      • Funny Funny x 3
      • Agree Agree x 1
    3. Zoolimar

      Joined:
      Aug 14, 2017
      Messages:
      70
      - Reactor block count should be smaller than that of stabilizers. Probably much smaller.
      -Chambers should be smaller in relation to reactor. Not half the block count per chamber.

      - Weapons with long recharge times must have higher cost of recharge/maintenance than weapons that have high rate of fire. The higher the reload times the higher the cost.
       
      • Agree Agree x 5
      • Disagree Disagree x 3
      • Like Like x 2
    4. PriZm

      Joined:
      Dec 5, 2014
      Messages:
      70
      i mostley agree. Though i dont like the idea of needing that much bigger stabilizers. I agree on the chambers though, they tend to ear up a lot of space especially for those effects with complicated trees (its ok for chambers you can upgrade). And i strongly agree that high alpha weapons need some sort of serious balance. Also, shields in general seem to be pretty useless atm. They cost quite some energy to maintain and drop instantly to the new weapons (especially the high alpha weapons).
       
    5. JumpSuit

      JumpSuit Lost-Legacy Director

      Joined:
      Feb 5, 2015
      Messages:
      293
      Will have my server set to the dev build.
       
    6. kikaha

      Joined:
      Jul 10, 2013
      Messages:
      483
      Power don't work on stations... The new one anyways...
       
      • Like Like x 1
    7. DrTarDIS

      DrTarDIS Eldrich Timelord

      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2014
      Messages:
      893
      FYI /data/config/ has the .xml files that show you values. anything with "reactor" in it is tied to the new system.

      I like that there's a flat energy cost per module on weapons systems. (15/block charge, 3/block maintenance) I haven't played with overdrive and whatnot yet to see if that scales appropriately.

      Thrusters are still kinda heavy IMHO, only being able to run a couple thrusters off one 100% reactor is sorta spazzy.(though mobility chambers mitigate this well) Thruster Blast is broken/useless.
       
      • Informative Informative x 1
    8. kikaha

      Joined:
      Jul 10, 2013
      Messages:
      483
      Thanks i'll look at that xml file now.
       
    9. Comradecolonel

      Joined:
      Jun 17, 2015
      Messages:
      277
      Personally after trying to refit a couple of ships, I'm not a fan of the system. I like the added features that chambers bring but most other aspects of the system provide no benefit over the previous systems. My ships feel weaker and less capable. I'm sure I still need to tweak things to get the best performance, but I'm getting WAY less power from the new system. Building is exactly as tedious as it was before. I'm still cramming my ships full of blocks in order to get better performance. Thrust has essentially been nerfed as you can' t get enough power for thrusters on ships that have a lot of them. Essentially if you make a ship that a majority thrusters, it won't work at all. Bigger ships might fair better but I'm not doing in any small amount of time.

      Once I test more I'll maybe have a different opinion but I don't really see this improving the game much at all. Hopefully I'm just being biased but it doesn't seem like it.
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
      • Informative Informative x 2
    10. Dire Venom

      Joined:
      Feb 27, 2014
      Messages:
      718
      Thanks to all who have given feedback so far.
      How are you guys finding building reactors/stabilizors? Is the distance between them limiting? Do you find you have to fill your ships up with them to get enough power? Is there ways using smart building that you can increase the efficiency of your build like in the old power system with line reactors?
       
    11. Wolverines527

      Wolverines527 Warrior/Builder

      Joined:
      Aug 10, 2015
      Messages:
      356
      as far as I see power is very underwhelming and the stabilizers have to be moved way to far I had to add at least 20 to 30 more meters to my miner to get the desired power and optimal stability
      --- Updated post (merge), Oct 5, 2017, Original Post Date: Oct 5, 2017 ---
      I would suggest eliminating distance as for stabilizers I would say have them any where you want simplicity over engineering the heck out of the design
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
      • Like Like x 1
    12. dwguitarguy

      Joined:
      Aug 4, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      I completely agree with the thrust issue you mentioned building medium-ish fighters that have a lot of thrusters simply doesn't work anymore. I for one, LOVE, having amazing acceleration and I just can't do that anymore without using ALL the power I have and not being able to shoot or reload while using thrust. It makes building fast fighters near impossible, unless there is a method I have not found yet.
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
    13. Top 4ce

      Top 4ce Force or Ace?

      Joined:
      Jul 25, 2013
      Messages:
      470
      I don't know if the correct power drain on thrust and other system blocks have been implemented, and chambers might also help here.
       
    14. dwguitarguy

      Joined:
      Aug 4, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      I have chambers for mobility setup, but it still doesn't help combat the MASSIVE power drain. IDK It could be using the numbers for power drain from the old system.

      Also feeling like the distance between reactor and stabilizer needs to be lowered. For a small ship to have the systems I want, and the power I need for those systems, the ship has to be very long, or very tall if using a vertical build.
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
    15. Crimson-Artist

      Crimson-Artist Wiki Administrator

      Joined:
      Sep 10, 2013
      Messages:
      1,465
      some of the chambers dont seem to be working yet/wonky so this is still very early in its implementation. hopefully us talking about this and bring up some points should help schine adjust the numbers. Right now im just annoyed that in order to see the chamber tree i have to revert a chamber back to its default.
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • Informative Informative x 1
    16. Capt Black001

      Joined:
      Dec 22, 2014
      Messages:
      31
      I was so happy when I saw JW608s video about the release of the new power upgrade in DEV mode.
      So I updated the new files and went right into it.
      First Mistake I made, was I used my current universe, I had been working hard on for 2 Projects, a 50x50x50 small station, and a mega Manufacturing Plant that can create every possible block every tick.
      So of course , I had to be able to produce the new blocks myself. So I added several basic, and standard factories to do just that, I made about 200 of each. enough to start playing with it.
      I started my first ship with the new blocks, major mistakes all the time, no videos to teach how to use yet. The problem I had was using a Radar Jammer, It just wont work with the new power blocks.
      THEN MY STATION VANISHED, I logged out and back in a few times and still no station, THEN ALL MY SHIPS VANISHED. Now I'm getting upset and worried, I tried repairing starmade and still nothing.

      IF YOU WANT TO TRY OUT THE NEW POWER BLOCKS, MAKE A NEW UNIVERSE FIRST.

      So now I,m still upset over this, there were no warnings of this will ever happen. I think you should have waited another 6 months before releasing it to Dev Build, with more tutorials, paperwork on how to use, and what TO WATCH OUT FOR.

      I ENDED UP HAVING TO DELETE EVERYTHING AND LOADING STARMADE FRESH. nOW IM SEEING NPC SHIPS DISSAPEARING RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME, IM USING RELEASE BUILD THIS TIME.

      fix this please. I'm going to have to wait a little longer before I try that again. I learned another lesson to, save a copy of everything every 30 minutes while building any ship or station.
       
      • Funny Funny x 4
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
    17. silverfoe

      Joined:
      Sep 12, 2017
      Messages:
      84
      Was it still vanished when you down graded to regular release? Also you can teleport away so it unloads the sector, then do sector repair command.
       
    18. Capt Black001

      Joined:
      Dec 22, 2014
      Messages:
      31
      Yep, tried that too, I went 5 sectors away, then exited the game and went back in. Then I went to the sector where my station and ships used to be. NOTHING. And I went back to regular release build, The component for Power Dev Build was still there in name plus (test). So I trashed all the new components and tried exiting and came back in. Still nothing.

      Well there isn't anything I can do about it now, seeing as how I did a fresh intall of the full game. I will also add that I only play on my local server (sandbox)
       
    19. Snowtiger256

      Joined:
      Jul 5, 2015
      Messages:
      196
      The most serious problem I see with the new power system is that it's purely based on GENERATION of power, aside from the scant little power storage innate to the core, the system has no visible power STORAGE. Unless you hybridize your power systems (add power caps alongside the new reactors), you don't get more storage than the 50k innate to any ship core (which is part of the old power system, so it's not affected at all by the new power system).

      With the old system, you could calculate how much power the ships needs to be fully functional and then tailor the power system to match those calculations.

      With the new system, you can still do the calculations, but as you have no storage capacity beyond the core, you can only match generation and not have any stored power to fall upon if your generation is affected.
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • Like Like x 1
      • Disagree Disagree x 1
    20. Zoolimar

      Joined:
      Aug 14, 2017
      Messages:
      70
      New reactors are actually also batteries. It's just that their standard regeneration rate set to 100% per second in config files.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    Loading...