Planned Move the ship core. Simply.

Reaction score
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    Ok, so hi! I'm Rymac. I am also a dev for a different studio, but I love Star-Made. I just recently encountered a similar problem with one of my games that my team is working on.

In Star-Made there seems to be a bunch of posts about moving the ship core. Well I can see where this would be a rather tedious task (with assumptions of how you have it set up). I recently was working on a camp building system, where the campfire was the "Ship Core". It can't be moved. However as the camp grows, sometimes... it just has to be moved.

So what I did, you just place a second one. Once it's placed a simple check to see if the Camp (Entity) already contains one. If it does ( which it should ) add a dialog box, "You can only have one of these, replace the existing one? Yes or No". That was my solution. Now also I saw, the issue of moving it in battle. Well what you could do, is force a reboot. I just find it super annoying as well as in my game, when you where just one position off, and had to start over. The way I came up with this was just moving file on my computer. "This file already exists, replace it?".

It worked out great for us, but I would really like to hear your take on it. Please let me know what you think.

Keptick

Building masochist
    Reaction score
    • Councillor 2 Gold
    • Railman Gold
    • Thinking Positive Gold
    I'll let the devs know about it, and kick/poke at the same time since it's a really annoying issue as you said. What you proposed does sound pretty simple :D